Chinese Almond Cookies

IMG_0792.JPG

I have long loved and lusted after these Chinese Almond Cookies.  I actually do not know the exact name of them, this is my best guess.  I originally found them with my mother at a Jewish bakery.  Most recently though I discovered them at an Italian bakery in Coral Springs and that is where I was lucky enough to find a recipe.

These are about 90% as good as the originals which is pretty good!  And the recipe makes quite a lot of cookies, but you can freeze extras if you need to.  They have a soft texture, not very chewy and the chocolate adds an extra layer of flavor.  The original calls for rolling them in chopped walnuts, I didn’t have any so I used sprinkles.  Both would be fabulous options!

Chinese Almond Cookies

Recipe from Doris’s Italian Market in Coral Springs, Florida

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond past
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 12 ounces vegetable shortening
  • 4 large eggs
  • 5 cups floud
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 6 ounces melted semisweet chocolate, divided
  • 2 cups walnuts, chopped (or sprinkles which I used!)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Combine sugar and almond paste, works best using a hand mixer or electric mixer
  3. Add salt, baking soda, shortening, eggs, flour, vanilla and almond extract and mix on low speed until a smooth dough is formed
  4. Add 2 ounces of melted chocolate and mix in partially to create a marbled look.
  5. Separate the dough in half and form two logs about 2.5 inches in diameter.
  6. Roll each log in chopped walnuts or sprinkles.
  7. Cut each log into 12 discs.
  8. Place discs on baking sheet and bake for 12-14 minutes or until just barely golden brown.
  9. Cool completely and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment