Jerusalem’s Kohlrabi Salad

20151220_133836

My advisor recommended that I check out Yotam Ottolenghi’s cookbook Jerusalem.  I checked out the cookbook from the library to take a look.  Checking out books from the library has been my new go to in order to try not to fill my entire house with cookbooks.  There are so many beautiful new cookbook’s and it is so difficult to choose, thus I began checking them out at the library and trying out a recipe or two.

This cookbook was absolutely gorgeous to flip through and I loved all the different Mediterranean flavors.  This recipe calls for ground sumac which was a first for me.  The sumac bush produces red berries and is one of the main components of za-atar. When in doubt, I venture over the The Kitchn to learn about various ingredients or cooking tips.  Check out their blurb on sumac!

I had some beautiful kohlrabi and purple carrots so I altered the recipe to be mostly carrot based with a little chopped kohlrabi and I think you will find that this combination is refreshing and delightful!

Carrot and Kohlrabi Salad

adapted from Jerusalem

  • 6 medium carrots, peeled and shredded
  • 1 medium kohlrabi, peeled and chopped into small pieces (about 1/4 inch x 1/2 inch rectangles)
  • 1/3 cup Greek plain yogurt
  • 5 Tbsp sour cream
  • 3 Tbsp mascarpone cheese
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1/4 tsp ground sumac
  • salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Mix together the shredded carrots and chopped kohlrabi in a large bowl. Set aside.
  2. To make the dressing, place the yogurt, sour cream, mascarpone cheese, garlic, lemon juice, and olive oil in a medium bowl.  Add 1/4 teaspoon of salt and a grind of fresh pepper.  Whisk the ingredients together until smooth.
  3. Stir the dressing into the kohlrabi and carrot mixture.
  4. Stir in the mint and sprinkle the top of the salad with sumac.

 

 

Leave a Reply

