Apple Blue Cheese Salad with Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

087

For the past few weeks I have been having a love affair with blue cheese.  I’ve been eating it on all my burgers and when I tasted it in the Panera fuji apple chicken salad I was hooked!  Also I must gush about how much I love red leaf lettuce.  It is my favorite leaf for salads, a cross between soft greens and crunchy romaine it is perfection. I decided to create my own salad and pulled out a salad dressing I discovered a few years ago.  This salad dressing is incredibly simple to make and very quick to whisk together.  I promise you will not be disappointed with this salad 🙂

Apple Blue Cheese Salad

adapted from allrecipes.com

Serves 4

Ingredients

The salad:

1 head of red leaf lettuce, washed and torn into bite size pieces

1/2 cup shredded carrots

2 oz blue cheese, broken up into chunks

1 apple, cored and sliced

1/2 cup walnuts, broken into pieces

Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing:

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 tsp honey

1/2 tsp dijon mustard

1/8 cup raspberry balsamic vinegar

1/2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1/4 cup olive oil

Directions

Combine all the salad ingredients in a bowl, layering in order from bottom to top.  Whisk together the salad dressing ingredients.  Toss the salad with the dressing.  The salad dressing will keep well in the refrigerator.  Remove the dressing from the fridge for at least 20 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

