Chocolate Beet Mini Cupcakes with Beet Cream Cheese Icing

013

Through the CSA (consumer sustainable agriculture) I received beets last week.  Beets are not my favorite food item so I decided to make them into dessert!  I followed a recipe from Joy the Baker for a two layer beet cake, but instead turned them into mini-cupcakes.  I absolutely adore mini-cupcakes because they allow me to take smaller portions of dessert, or eat three and feel like I’ve had a lot!  Plus that are super cute.  The pink color of the frosting is an amazing brilliant shade of fushia.  This might be a great cupcake to take to an Alice in Wonderland tea party?!?

Chocolate Beet Mini Cupcakes with Beet Cream Cheese Icing

cake and icing recipe from Joy the Baker

makes 52 mini cupcakes

Directions

1. make one recipe for chocolate beet cake

2. fill mini cupcake tin with paper liners and then fill 3/4ths full with cake batter

3. bake at 375 for 12-16 minutes, until a toothpick is removed clean from the cupcake

4. prepare the icing recipe

5. top the cupcakes with the icing and enjoy!

Tips for roasting beets: because beets can be quite messy, I used a plastic baggie to cover my hands as I worked with the beets.  This kept most of the beet juice off of me and my hands while I was peeling and grating the beets.

The cake batter:

012 016

 

One thought on “Chocolate Beet Mini Cupcakes with Beet Cream Cheese Icing

  1. They look amazing! I love the color. I wish I were there to try yours. If I were to ever receive Beets, now I know what to do with them! -Your loving sister!

Leave a Reply

