Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Mini Muffins

Image

I had a leftover banana that was way overripe and I wasn’t sure quite what to do with it.  Then, I decided that I would cut down a recipe size for chocolate chip banana bread for one banana’s worth.  These are delectable!  You can taste the banana, the crunchy sugar on top adds a little something extra, and you don’t need to plan for these muffins by having multiple overripe bananas at your disposal.  Also these take much less time to bake than banana bread.  The two challenges with this recipe are the flour and the egg.  For the egg, I beat the egg in a separate bowl, and then used about half of it, which for me was 5tsp.  Just do your best and I promise it will turn out great!  I have done this for other recipes in the past and it works! For the flour I just filled my half measuring cup 80% full by my best estimate and it turned out splendidly!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Mini Muffins Recipe

adapted from Bake or Break

Amount: 12 mini-muffins

Ingredients

4/10 cup of flour (fill a 1/2 measuring cup of flour 80% full)

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 cup butter, unsalted

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 Tbsp sour cream (I used light)

1/8 tsp vanilla extract

1 mashed overripe banana

1/2 beaten egg (beat one egg and use half, for me it was about 5 tsp worth)

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips (more or less depending on how chocolatey you like your muffins)

turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray 12 mini-muffin tins with baking spray (I used olive oil spray).  Mix together flour, baking soda, and salt and place the bowl to the side.  Then in a separate bowl, beat the butter and sugar with an electric mixer on medium speed until they are light and fluffy.  Add the 5 tsp of beaten egg and mix.  Next beat in the bananas, sour cream, and vanilla.  Gradually add the flour mixture until just combined. Then stir in the chocolate chips.

Divide the batter equally into 12 mini-muffin tins.  Sprinkle each muffin with turbinado sugar.  Place in the oven for bake for about 13 minutes or until cooked through.  They should be golden on top.  Remove from the oven and let cool before removing them from the tin.  They are served best warm with a glass of milk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

