The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012: Andes Mint Chip Cookies

169

When I first heard about the cookie swap I was so excited!  I just started my food blog in May and this is the first blogging event I’ve participated in.  I have a lot of bookmarks saved of recipes I would like to make, both sweet and savory.  So when I was deciding which cookie to try next for this I stumbled upon a cookie from Sally’s Baking Addiction.  She always is coming up with new creative baking ideas and this cookie did not disappoint.  The mint chocolate was such a refreshing taste for this cookie.

I received Chocolate Snowquakes from Amy at thisheartofmineblog.com, Cinnamon French Toast Sugar Cookies and Raspberry Almond Thumbprints from Valerie at pursuitofsweetness.com, and Molasses Crinkles from Amy at fearlesshomemaker.com.   Thank you for sending such yummy treats!

Andes Mint Chip Cookies Recipe

adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 cups and 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup chopped Andes Mints or Andes Mints Baking Chips ( I used one package of chopped Andes mints since I couldn’t find the baking chips at my local store)
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • milk if dough is too thick

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream together the butter and sugars on medium speed using a mixer.  Add the egg, then the egg yolk, mixing for about 1 minute after each addition.  Mix in the vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the baking soda, baking powder, salt, flour, and unsweetened cocoa powder.  Add 1/2 of the dry ingredients to the wet.  Mix for about 1 minute on low speed.  Add the rest of the dry ingredients and mix on low speed until combined.  If the dough is too thick then slowly add in a little milk until the consistency is good (I did not need to add any milk).  By hand, fold in the Andes Mints and chocolate chips.

Drop the cookie dough onto an ungreased baking sheet (I made mine about 2 tsp big but I think they would have been excellent larger). Bake for 8-12 minutes, depending on how big your cookies are, until the sides slightly begin to brown.  Allow to cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes and then transfer to a wire rack.

http://www.fbcookieswap.com/images/fbcookieswap_wood.png

5 thoughts on “The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012: Andes Mint Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012 Recipe Roundup Part 2 | the little kitchen

Leave a Reply

